U.S./EU Spirits Agreement

In March of 1994, representatives from the United States and the European Community (EC) – now known as the European Union (EU) – completed an agreement, in the form of an exchange of letters, in which each party agreed to recognize certain products as distinctive of the U.S. and the EC.   These included Bourbon Whisky and Tennessee Whisky for the U.S., as well as Scotch Whisky, Irish Whisky, Cognac, Armagnac, Calvados, and Brandy de Jerez for the EC.

Related documents:

U.S./EC Spirits Agreement
Page last reviewed/updated: 09/04/2012