April 5, 2018
For Immediate Release
TTB Seal Office of Congressional and Public Affairs


TTB Press Release


TTB Establishes the Cape May Peninsula Viticultural Area


Washington, D.C. – On Friday, April 6, 2018, the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) will publish a final rule in Federal Register establishing the 126,635-acre "Cape May Peninsula" American viticultural area in Cape May and Cumberland Counties in New Jersey. The Cape May Peninsula viticultural area is located entirely within the established Outer Coastal Plain viticultural area.

TTB is issuing this regulation in response to a petition submitted by a local wine industry member on behalf of the ad hoc Cape May Wine Growers Association. TTB designates viticultural areas to allow vintners to better describe the origin of their wines and to allow consumers to better identify wines they may purchase.

This final rule will be effective on May 7, 2018. The public may view the relevant rulemaking documents and the public comments received regarding the Cape May Peninsula viticultural area on the "Regulations.gov website within Docket No. TTB–2016–0007. A link to the docket may be found on the TTB website (https://www.ttb.gov).