U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Press Release - FY-19-17

June 18, 2019
For Immediate Release
Office of Congressional and Public Affairs

TTB Proposes the Tualatin Hills and Laurelwood District Viticultural Areas


Washington, D.C. – On Wednesday, June 19, 2019, the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) will publish a proposed rule in Federal Register proposing the establishment of the 144,000-acre “Tualatin Hills” American viticultural area in Washington and Multnomah Counties in Oregon and the 33,600-acre “Laurelwood District” viticultural area in Washington and Yamhill Counties in Oregon. The proposed viticultural areas are both located within the established Willamette Valley viticultural area. TTB is proposing both viticultural areas in the same notice of proposed rulemaking because they share a common boundary.

TTB is making this proposal in response to separate petitions filed by local wine industry members on behalf of local vineyard and winery owners. TTB designates viticultural areas to allow vintners to better describe the origin of their wines and to allow consumers to better identify wines they may purchase.

After the proposed rule is published, you may submit comments on this proposal and view copies of the proposed rule, selected supporting materials, and any comments TTB receives about this proposal on the Regulations.gov website (https://www.regulations.gov) within Docket No. TTB–2019–0003. A link to that docket is posted on the TTB website at https://www.ttb.gov/wine/wine-rulemaking.shtml under Notice No. 181.

Alternatively, written comments may be submitted to one of these addresses:

  • U.S. Mail: Director, Regulations and Rulings Division, Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, 1310 G Street NW., Box 12, Washington, DC 20005; or
  • Hand delivery/courier in lieu of mail: Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, 1310 G Street, NW., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005.

Comments on this proposal must be received on or before August 19, 2109.




Last updated: March 26, 2024
Maintained by: Office of Congressional and Public Affairs