U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

FY 19-21

August 16, 2019
For Immediate Release

Office of Congressional and Public Affairs

TTB Proposes the Candy Mountain Viticultural Area and the Modification of the Yakima Valley Viticultural Area


Washington, D.C. – On Monday, August 19, 2019, the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) will publish a proposed rule in Federal Register proposing the establishment of the 815-acre “Candy Mountain” American viticultural area in Benton County, Washington. Additionally, TTB is proposing to expand the boundary of the established Yakima Valley viticultural area by 72 acres in order to avoid a partial overlap with the proposed viticultural area. The proposed Candy Mountain viticultural area and the Yakima Valley viticultural area are both located within the established Columbia Valley viticultural area.TTB is making this proposal in response to a petition filed on behalf of local vineyard and winery owners.  TTB designates viticultural areas to allow vintners to better describe the origin of their wines and to allow consumers to better identify wines they may purchase.

After the proposed rule is published, you may submit comments on this proposal and view copies of the proposed rule, selected supporting materials, and any comments TTB receives about this proposal on the Regulations.gov website (https://www.regulations.gov) within Docket No. TTB20190006.  A link to that docket is posted on the TTB website at https://www.ttb.gov/wine/wine-rulemaking.shtml under Notice No. 184.

Alternatively, written comments may be submitted to one of these addresses:

  • U.S. Mail: Director, Regulations and Rulings Division, Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, 1310 G Street NW., Box 12, Washington, DC 20005; or
  • Hand delivery/courier in lieu of mail: Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, 1310 G Street, NW., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005.

Comments on this proposal must be received on or before October 18, 2109.



Page last reviewed: August 16, 2019
Page last updated August 16, 2019
Maintained by: Office of Congressional and Public Affairs

Last updated: January 9, 2020