U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

AVA Map Explorer

Email Get Email Updates

Use the American Viticultural Area (AVA) Map Explorer to view the boundaries of all established and proposed AVAs. The Map Explorer has information about each AVA, including its state and county, when it was established, what other AVAs it contains or is within, and a link to its codified official boundary description. You can even plot an address on the Map Explorer to see if that location is within an AVA. You can also download "shapefiles" for the various AVAs, which you can use with geographic information system (GIS) software.

Please note that some features may not display correctly in Internet Explorer. For a better viewing experience, use an alternate browser such as Chrome or Firefox. 

Looking for a complete shapefile for all of the established AVAs in the US, or for just the established AVAs in California, Oregon, or Washington? Contact us online using the Regulations and Rulings contact form.


Most Recent AVAs

Conneaut Creek, Contra Costa, Crystal Springs of Napa Valley, Nashoba Valley, Nine Lakes of East Tennessee, San Luis Rey, Tryon Foothills, Upper Cumberland, Wanapum Village
Upper Cumberland, Yucaipa Valley



The boundaries shown on the Map Explorer are for informational purposes only. The official boundaries recognized by TTB are those codified in the Code of Federal Regulations at 27 CFR part 9. If there is a discrepancy between the codified boundary description and the boundary shown on the Map Explorer, the codified boundary description takes precedence.



For more information about American Viticultural Areas, contact us at 202-453-2175, or online.

Last updated: May 15, 2024
Maintained by: Regulations and Rulings Division