U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government


On November 26, 2002 President Bush signed into law the Homeland Security Act of 2002. One provision of this Act divided the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms into two new agencies, the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF), which has moved to the Department of Justice, and the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB), which remains in the Department of the Treasury.

TTB enforces the Federal laws related to the production and taxation of alcohol and tobacco products. TTB will also continue to collect all excise tax on the manufacture of firearms and ammunition. Read more about the history of TTB.

Last updated: January 18, 2022