Permits Online: Save and Resume Later
Note: This page contains instructions and screenshots so you can see what to expect when using Permits Online, our online method of applying for a TTB permit, registration, or notice.
You can use the "Save and resume later" button in the bottom right-hand corner of a page if you run out of time while working on an application or if you don't have the documents or information needed to finish.
Note: We also recommend that you use the "Save and resume later" button frequently to save your work since there is an automatic two-hour time out built into Permits Online.
The "Save and Resume Later" option saves all your work up through the last step where you completed all of the required fields (and related information sections and tables) and selected the "Continue" button.
Note: We strongly recommend that you do not use "Save and Resume later" when completing amendment applications, as it may unfortunately lead to loss of information. This has to do with the way the software pulls in information from your approved application records, so is only an issue for amendment applications.
If you are working on an application within an application package, when you select "Save and Resume Later" you will be taken to the "Application package" screen; you can now safely log off without losing your work. When you select "Resume" you will be taken to step 1 of the application. Use the "Continue" buttons at the bottom of each page to get to the step where you need to resume working on the application.
If you are working on an application or request that is not part of an application package, when you select "Save and resume later" you will be taken to your "My Submissions" page where you will see confirmation that your partial application has been saved. Saved applications are assigned a temporary tracking number in the "My Records" section. In the "Action" column of the "My Records" table select "Resume Application."
If you logged off Permits Online after saving an application, you may resume it from your "My Submissions" page.
When you select "Resume application" you will be taken to step 1 of the application. Use the "Continue" buttons at the bottom of each page to get to the step where you need to resume working on the application.
Resume Draft Button
You may also resume saved applications by using the "Resume Draft" button at the top of each page. After selecting "Resume Draft" you will see a list of all your temporary records. Select the one you wish to resume.