TTB Press Release

April 5, 2018
For Immediate Release
Tom Hogue,

TTB Establishes the Cape May Peninsula Viticultural Area


Washington, D.C. – On Friday, April 6, 2018, the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) will publish a final rule in Federal Register establishing the 126,635-acre "Cape May Peninsula" American viticultural area in Cape May and Cumberland Counties in New Jersey. The Cape May Peninsula viticultural area is located entirely within the established Outer Coastal Plain viticultural area.

TTB is issuing this regulation in response to a petition submitted by a local wine industry member on behalf of the ad hoc Cape May Wine Growers Association. TTB designates viticultural areas to allow vintners to better describe the origin of their wines and to allow consumers to better identify wines they may purchase.

This final rule will be effective on May 7, 2018. The public may view the relevant rulemaking documents and the public comments received regarding the Cape May Peninsula viticultural area on the " website within Docket No. TTB–2016–0007. A link to the docket may be found on the TTB website (





Page last reviewed: November 14, 2018
Page last updated: November 14, 2018
Maintained by: Office of Congressional and Public Affairs